Summerfield School


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory framework we follow.

It consists of three Prime areas:

▪ Personal, Social and Emotional Development

▪ Communication and Language

▪ Physical Development

These underpin the four specific areas of leaning:

▪ Literacy

▪ Mathematics

▪ Understanding the World

▪ Expressive Arts and Design

We use this framework to create our own curriculum which aims to capture the unique interests and needs of all the children in our cohort. This is primarily taught through a combination of indoor and outdoor play-based learning. We also include a number of daily focussed teaching sessions involving Maths and Phonics.

Small Talk – little ways to make a difference 

The National Literacy Trust has a useful website providing ideas to encourage parents to chat, play and read with their children on a daily basis.  These regular interactions will support a child’s developing communication and language skills.